Iconic hip-hop group De La Soul are keeping late music producer J Dilla‘s memory alive with the unexpected release of their new Smell The Da.I.S.Y. (Da Inner Soul of Yancy) mixtape.

The project, which features previously unreleased beats from Dilla, premiered online Wednesday (March 26).

Ever since they posted almost their entire discography for free download last month, the great pioneering rap trio De La Soul have been rolling, with three new projects in the works. The first of those — and the group’s first full-length in about a decade — is the new mixtape Smell The Da.I.S.Y. (Da Inner Soul Of Yancy), on which the group raps over unreleased beats from the late rap production genius J Dilla. (Stereo Gum)

The underground free release comes packed with ten records including a guest spot from rap veteran Redman.

01 Let the King Ascend 02 Who [ft. Redman] 03 Dilla Plugged In 04 Goes the Word 05 Vocabulary Spills 06 The Pitch 07 Taking the Train 08 Leave Your Cares Behind 09 O’Shut Up 10 No More No Less 11 Marvin Jaye (Smell the Da.I.S.Y)

De La Soul’s Smell the Da.I.S.Y download reportedly includes a special documentary.

De La Soul recently shared “Dilla Plugged In”, a track pairing reworked lines from the 3 Feet High track “Plug Tunin'” with production from the late J Dilla. Now, they’ve shared the full Smell the D.A.I.S.Y. mixtape, which features unreleased Dilla beats and reworked classic De La lyrics. The mixtape download also comes with the Dilla documentary Still Shining. Grab it via BitTorrent. (Pitchfork)

Along with this release, the threesome are expected to drop another collaborative effort in 2014.

Later this year, De La Soul will release Premiem Soul on the Rocks, a six-song EP featuring production from DJ Premier and Pete Rock, followed by their new studio album titled You’re Welcome. (Consequence of Sound)

To download the new project, just click here.