Lil’ Wayne Wins Big At The BET Hip-Hop Awards

Lil Wayne

The 2008 BET Hip-Hop Awards was taped last Saturday (October 18) in Atlanta’s Civic Center with New Orleans rapper Lil’ Wayne coming out on top.

Weezy, who had a phenomenal year – selling over one million copies of his album Tha Carter III after its first week of release – won three awards, including “Lyricist of the Year,” MVP of the Year” and “People’s Champ.”

Other winners included Atlanta rapper Shawty Low, who won the “MySpace Music Rookie of the Year” award as well as DJ Khaled, Young Jeezy, Ludacris, Busta Rhymes, Big Boi, Fat Joe, Birdman and Rick Ross who won the “Best Hip-Hop Collaboration” award for “I’m So Hood (The Remix).” LL Cool J also hit the stage to present Def Jam Records co-founder Russell Simmons with the “I Am Hip-Hop” icon award for his commitment and contributions to the hip-hop community.

Among the performers at the third annual event were Nas, Ludacris, Common, T.I., Young Jeezy, Bow Wow, Soulja Boy and N.E.R.D.  MC Lyte, Lady of Rage, Salt-n-Pepa and Yo-Yo also hit the stage to perform in a special segment honoring the women of hip-hop.

As previously reported by SOHH‘s Gyant Scoop blog, in a surprising turn of events, comedian Katt Williams, the show’s scheduled host, was mysteriously replaced by T-Pain at the last minute. Williams hosted the last two year’s ceremonies.
BET‘s third annual Hip-Hop Awards will air on Thursday, October 23 at 8 p.m. EST  

Also On The Web