Tech N9ne – Something Else


Tech N9ne has returned with a brand new album bridging the good and evil into a intriguing three part section which exhibits his musical growth artistically. With no major label backing or significant radio play Tech has been able to pull off greatness that most artists dream of. In one of his most personal releases thus far, Tech brings the world his heart, mind and soul on this twenty plus track offering.

Here are the 5 Reasons to download Something Else.

1. Boss Of All Bosses

Kansas City, Missouri native Tech N9ne has created a self-sufficient empire that has been flourishing since the late 90’s. Tech is one of the most significant independent artists of all time and has already surpassed a million in sales. He doesn’t conform to any mainstream formulas and along with his business partner Travis O’Guin, Tech has created a platform for not only himself but dozens of artists on his Strange Music roster. Tech sets the bar with his industry savvy and has seen unprecedented success in is career thus far. He is someone who stays on the road averaging over two hundred shows a year and has built a personal connection with his fans.


2. Fire, Water & Earth

Something New is separated into three different parts making it a very interesting and compelling listen. Part one is titled Fire and delves into the more somber side of life. For instance “I Ain’t No Saint”, paints an introspective and shockingly candid look into the pains of Tech’s life.

“I didn’t mean to hurt a soul here/
But my inner demon has no fear/
Of making choices that’ll make you pour tears/
Black transparent flies show me that the soul’s near” – Tech N9ne

Water is more on the lighter side and features more uptempo cuts. The final section of the LP Earth brings everything full circle with a more positive theme. Tech touches on a variety of topics. On one of the highlights on Something Else he talks about being a positive influence for his kids on the thoughtful song “That’s My Kid”.


3. The Empire

Strange Music has pieced together an intricate plan and their operation is running on smooth cylinders. To have the power to organize tours and plan release dates for all their artists its truly a wonderful thing. Folks can’t help to be inspired by a spirit of entrepreneurship in movement. Tech realizes the accomplishments his label has shown and speaks on it during the album trailer. “Twenty five years is a long time man. I guess it takes a long time for perfection. To spread my words across the world to build an empire man.”

4. Music Talks

Not to many artists are willing to share their life on the mic which such conviction and honesty. Tech’s past experiences with relationships and drugs are on display in a way where people can relate and gravitate to him. The success he has been having is not only through the music alone, but through the connection he keeps with his supporters. On a recent appearance to NYC radio station Power 105.1 he explained how keeping up constantly with his fanbase affected his marriage. “That’s why it didn’t work. I’m married to my fans. My wife didn’t like the fact that I shared my pain or her pain with everybody else.”

5. Features

Clocking in with over twenty songs, Tech brings out diverse features on Something Else. The VIP guest list includes Krizz Kaliko, Serj Tankian, T-Pain, Big Scoob, Red Café, Trae tha Truth, Liz Suwandi, Tyler Lyon, Kendall Morgan, Kendrick Lamar, ¡Mayday!, Angel Davenport, Game, Snow tha Product, Twisted Insane, Wrekonize, B.o.B, Wiz Khalifa, Big K.R.I.T., Cee Lo Green, Kutt Calhoun, Scoop DeVille, Rittz, Stevie Stone, Ces Cru, Danny Brown and the remaining members of the legendary rock band The Doors.


  • Lilbloodz Lilbloodz

    Never like his music
    Just saying

    • Dean Rupcic

      Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know that.

  • bread

    tech is a true artist. been listening to him to “mitch bade” “Slacker”