Kevin Gates – Stranger Than Fiction

cover (2)

Baton Rouge representative Kevin Gates brings a high dosage of reality rap infused within his bars. With a unmistakable brash delivery and hard hitting hood anthems, Gates is bringing the voice of the streets directly to the industry. His new seventeen track project is available via iTunes, but has an exclusive free stream for listeners to check out before they cop it.

Here are the 5 Reasons to download “Stranger Than Fiction”.

1. N.O. to Baton Rouge

Born in New Orleans before relocating to Baton Rogue, Kevin Gates is a part of a long lineage of rap superstars coming out of Louisiana. That list includes artists like Master P, Soulja Slim, Curren$y, Lil’ Boosie, B.G., Webby, Juvenile, Lil’ Wayne, Kidd Kidd and a host of others. Since Gates younger years his passion for music was evident, as he built a studio in his grandparents basement and recorded frequently giving out tapes in school. Gates has beasted on the mixtape circuit with a total of eight drops since 2007. He has refocused his efforts for his first official retail release with “Stranger Than Fiction”.


2. From The Heart

Throughout “Stranger Than Fiction” Gates raps with conviction, exploring a number of topics that include serious street life, his liaisons with the ladies and his efforts to become a better man against the odds. In the vlog promotion of his project he talks about the authenticity he brings to the table. “You hear it in my music, I get emotional and sh*t – I’m a real person. I don’t got no skeletons in my closet.”

3. Get That Bread

Bread Winners Association is the name of Kevin Gates label. His recent February signing to Atlantic Records for distribution gives him a larger platform to push his music to a bigger audience. The buzz on his last project “The Luca Brasi Story” garnered rave reviews from the likes of Rolling Stone and Spin Magazine. It was downloaded over 50,000 times on A few weeks later, he got a deal. His standout record appearances with YMCMB’s Gudda Gudda and G.O.O.D. Music’s Pusha T helped to enforce his name out to the masses as well. Gates has a good relationship with Cash Money/Young Records. He has worked previously with Weezy and considers Master P and Birdman to be advisers to him. With all that music business knowledge available to him, Gates should be in a great position to succeed moving forward.


4. Block Bangaz

Kevin Gates brings his audience directly to the streets of Louisiana with his gripping, vivid tracks. The first track “4 Legs & A Biscuit” is a dark opener and is one of the hardest cuts on the album. KG brings a raw, unfiltered emotion to his songs. He can jump from the trap to the club effortlessly and has a unique flow and voice. His ability to compose compelling tales is a strength he uses throughout this project. Peep the visuals to the chilling “4:30 AM”.

5. Features

Gates carries this project mostly on his own but there are some official features. Juicy J appears for a verse on “Thinkin’ With My D**k”. Percy Keith and Mista Cain reppin’ with KG’s Bread Winner Association are both on the joint “Change On Me”. Dreco shows up on the jumping “Patrick Swazy”. Gates also connects with the popular ATL crew Migos on “Snake N*gga”.


  • dj

    He dont need cash money.. because he gon blow up by hisself. This guy is nice! (Fabolousvoice)

  • Lilbloodz Lilbloodz

    The Game lookalike wanna be lame
    Just saying

    • BigTree

      You ah ducking Hater G, jus saying.. Dis boi Go Hard str8 up
      Just saying lol lame azz

      • BigTree

        You under Dat Vampin Act little blood?

  • dapper

    this dude goes hard smh dj listen to this n then say something u fuck boy