News: Lil Wayne's "Rebirth" & "Young Money" Albums Pushed Back

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 10:15AM

Written by Cyrus Langhorne

Cash Money Records co-founder Baby has announced that  Lil Wayne's highly-anticipated Rebirth and Young Money compilation albums will be pushed back from their original release dates next month.

Initially slated to drop December 15th, both records will now be released three days prior to Christmas.

"*ATTN RT TO ALL LILWAYNE 'REBIRTH' AND THE YM ALLSTARS ALBUM HAS BEEN PUSHED BACK TO DEC 22..CMB/YM," Baby wrote via Twitter on Thursday (November 19). "RT @ceelowthegr8t: attn rt this lil wayne 'rebirth' and the young money allstars has been pushed back to Dec 22... 'PRICELESS' NOV 23 'ALL OR NOTHING' @JAYSEAN....COP DAT YM/CMB." (Baby's Twitter)

The Young Money compilation album will feature a variety of guest appearances.

We Are Young Money tracklisting: 1. Bedrock featuring Lloyd 2. New Sh* 3. Pass Me the Dutch 4. Wifebeater 5. F*ck the Bullsh*t featuring Birdman 6. Ms. Parker 7. Target 8. Sacrifice 9. Every Girl 10. She Is Gone featuring Pleasure P 11. Girl I Got You 12. Gooder 13. Roger That 14. Steady Mobbin' featuring Gucci Mane (Rap-Up)

Wayne recently hinted at his Rebirth album being included with the Young Money project.

"[laughs] Nah, they pushing for that, I ain't really trying to give 'em that like that [with a double album,]" Weezy explained in an interview with radio personality Tim Westwood. "Uh-huh, it won't be given like that. Trust me, it won't be given like that because Tha Carter IV deserves Tha Carter IV. And that's that. The Rebirth may come as a double [album] which comes with the Young Money All-Stars disc. Yeah, so it may be the Young Money All-Stars and Rebirth." (Tim Westwood TV)

Wayne's Rebirth will showcase a few rock-based features by artists including Travis Barker and Lenny Kravitz.

The set will be packaged as a dual disc along with the Young Money collective, We Are Young Money. In addition to Infamous and Correa, producers Cool and Dre and Develop also have tracks on Rebirth, while Fall Out Boy is featured. The latter comes after their first collaboration on Fall Out Boy's 2008 release, Folie a Deux. Lenny Kravitz, Travis Barker and Young Money/Cash Money artist Drake also appear on the set. Although the album is mostly rock inspired, with Lil Wayne playing guitar on most of the tracks, the leaked song, "Fix My Hat," produced by Drew Money, is one of the few rap tracks that made it onto the Rebirth set. (Billboard)

He recently spoke on the rock emphasis for his latest solo project.

"When people hear me say rock, they may get a little scared like, 'Oh, God. What is he going to do?," Weezy explained in an interview. "When I said I was doing a rock album, it was about doing a freedom thing. This album isn't hip-hop. When I do my Carter albums, I know I've got to rap, I know I've got to spit. I know the words I've got to say and the subjects I've got to talk about. I also know the things I shouldn't say, the things I shouldn't talk about. There's none of those limits on this album. I say what I want, how I want. That's what this album is, a freedom album. And rock is the avenue that gives you that freedom. I'm just having fun, that's all. Trust me, people will like these songs. It's my job to make them love them, but I know for a fact they'll like them." (Rap Radar)

Rebirth and We Are Young Money will now drop Tuesday, December 22nd.

Check out Lil Wayne speaking on his new album below:

For the latest gadgets, gear and giveaways, check out

blog comments powered by Disqus