News: Mike Epps To Host The 2009 BET Hip Hop Awards

Thursday, Sep 3, 2009 5:00PM

Written by Cyrus Langhorne

Comedian Mike Epps has been tapped to host this year's BET Hip-Hop Awards which will take place next month in Atlanta, Georgia.

The popular "Bad Boys of Comedy" host will take on a prime time slot when the annual show airs next month.

The BET Hip Hop Awards 09 returns to primetime this fall with actor/comedian Mike Epps as the new host. Taping on Saturday, October 10 at the Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in Atlanta, this exciting annual special will once again celebrate the biggest names in the game, on the mic and in the community. With this year's crowning tagline "And We Don't Stop...," BET plans to relive it all again, plus more. Premiering on the network on Tuesday, October 27 at 8:00 p.m., additional performers, nominees and show talent will be announced later next month. (Press Release)

BET Networks President of Music and Programming Stephen Hill has also confirmed Epp as this year's host.

"We are VERY happy to be coming back to 'The A' for the fourth go at the BET Hip-Hop Awards," said Stephen Hill, President of Music and Programming, BET Networks. "We embrace the opportunity to amplify all aspects of the hip-hop culture; the music, the dance, the sense of community and as we have before, we expect to do so with excitement...and with my man Mike Epps on board as our new host, we'll do it with reckless abandon. And we don't Stop." (Reuters)

Last year's show, which was hosted by T-Pain, was had various winners, most notably Lil Wayne who snagged led the pack with awards.

Weezy, who had a phenomenal year - selling over one million copies of his album Tha Carter III after its first week of release - won three awards, including "Lyricist of the Year," MVP of the Year" and "People's Champ." Other winners included Atlanta rapper Shawty Lo, who won the "MySpace Music Rookie of the Year" award as well as DJ Khaled, Young Jeezy, Ludacris, Busta Rhymes, Big Boi, Fat Joe, Birdman and Rick Ross who won the "Best Hip-Hop Collaboration" award for "I'm So Hood (The Remix)." LL Cool J also hit the stage to present Def Jam Records co-founder Russell Simmons with the "I Am Hip-Hop" icon award for his commitment and contributions to the hip-hop community. (SOHH)

The show also featured multiple performances.

Among the performers at the third annual event were Nas, Ludacris, Common, T.I., Young Jeezy, Bow Wow, Soulja Boy and N.E.R.D. MC Lyte, Lady of Rage, Salt-n-Pepa and Yo-Yo also hit the stage to perform in a special segment honoring the women of hip-hop. (BET Hip Hop Awards 2008)

Check out Mike Epp's "How To Be A Gangster" sketch below:

For the latest gadgets, gear and giveaways, check out

blog comments powered by Disqus