News: Kanye West Leads BET Hip-Hop Awards Nominations, Lil Wayne, T.I. & Eminem Also Snag Nods

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 3:35PM

Written by Cyrus Langhorne

With nine nods, Grammy-winning rapper Kanye West leads Lil Wayne, T.I., Drake, Eminem and Jay-Z in nominations for next month's 2009 BET Hip-Hop Awards.

A full listing of nominees and categories for this year's show landed online Wednesday (September 16) evening.

*Best Hip-Hop Collabo: Jim Jones/Ron Browz, Lil Wayne/Bobby Valentino, Rick Ross/John Legend, T.I./Rihanna, Young Jeezy/Kanye West *Best Live Performer: Busta Rhymes, Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, T.I., Kanye West *Lyricist of the Year: Drake, Eminem, Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, Kanye West *Producer of the Year: Ron Browz, Cool & Dre, Tha Bizness, T-Pain, Kanye West *CD of the Year: Eminem's Relapse, Q-Tip's Renaissance, T.I.'s Paper Trail, Kanye West's 808's & Heartbreak, Young Jeezy's The Recession *Rookie of the Year: B.o.B., Dorrough, Drake, Kid Cudi, Wale *MVP of the Year: Drake, Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, T.I., Kanye West *DJ of the Year: DJ AM, DJ Drama, DJ Khaled, DJ Tony Neal, DJ Greg Street *Hustler of the Year: Diddy, Drake, Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, Kanye West *Best Hip-Hop Style: Jay-Z, Kid Cudi, Lil Wayne, Soulja Boy Tell Em, Kanye West..." (Reuters)

Comedian Mike Epps will host this year's ceremony.

The BET Hip Hop Awards 09 returns to prime time this fall with actor/comedian Mike Epps as the new host. Taping on Saturday, October 10 at the Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in Atlanta, this exciting annual special will once again celebrate the biggest names in the game, on the mic and in the community. With this year's crowning tagline "And We Don't Stop...," BET plans to relive it all again, plus more. Premiering on the network on Tuesday, October 27 at 8:00 p.m., additional performers, nominees and show talent will be announced later next month. (Press Release)

BET Networks President of Music and Programming Stephen Hill has also confirmed Epp as this year's host.

"We are VERY happy to be coming back to 'The A' for the fourth go at the BET Hip-Hop Awards," said Stephen Hill, President of Music and Programming, BET Networks. "We embrace the opportunity to amplify all aspects of the hip-hop culture; the music, the dance, the sense of community and as we have before, we expect to do so with excitement...and with my man Mike Epps on board as our new host, we'll do it with reckless abandon. And we don't Stop." (Statement)

Last year's show had various winners, most notably Lil Wayne, who led the pack with awards.

Weezy, who had a phenomenal year - selling over one million copies of his album Tha Carter III after its first week of release - won three awards, including "Lyricist of the Year," MVP of the Year" and "People's Champ." Other winners included Atlanta rapper Shawty Lo, who won the "MySpace Music Rookie of the Year" award as well as DJ Khaled, Young Jeezy, Ludacris, Busta Rhymes, Big Boi, Fat Joe, Birdman and Rick Ross who won the "Best Hip-Hop Collaboration" award for "I'm So Hood (The Remix)." LL Cool J also hit the stage to present Def Jam Records co-founder Russell Simmons with the "I Am Hip-Hop" icon award for his commitment and contributions to the hip-hop community. (SOHH)

The BET Hip-Hop Awards is set to take place Tuesday, October 27 at 8:00 PM EST.

Check out footage from last year's BET Hip-Hop Awards.

For the latest gadgets, gear and giveaways, check out

blog comments powered by Disqus